New Delhi: The Supreme Court on Thursday issued notices to 7 state governments in the coal block allocation scam. The state governments which have been issued notices include the government of Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, West Bengal, Maharashtra, Madya Pradesh and Andhra Pradesh.

The apex court in its questions pertaining to the coal scam asked how the process how the state governments understand the allocation of coal block by the Centre.

It also enquired about the role of state government in the allocation. The court also raised questions regarding the role of the state government subsequent to grant of leases and the details of agreement entered by state public sector units with the private parties.

Courtesy: ibnlive