PTI reported that the Inter Ministerial Group  on coal blocks has asked the coal ministry to seek an opinion of the law ministry with regard to six mines which have been allotted to firms like Arcelor Mittal, Sterlite Energy, Lanco, Reliance Energy and are named in the FIR registered by the Central Bureau of Investigation.

An official document said “In cases of six blocks, where an FIR has been registered by the CBI against the allocatee or one of the allocatees of the coal block, IMG remitted the matters back to the coal ministry to take a view in the matter in consultation with the law ministry.”

The six blocks include
1. Rampia & Dip Side of Rampia mine jointly alloted to Sterlite Energy, GMR Energy, Arcelor Mittal, Lanco group, Navbharat Power and Reliance Energy

2. Thesgora-B/Rudrapuri mine alloted to Kamal Sponge Steel & Power and Revati Cement

3. Bander mine alloted to AMR Iron & Steels, Century Textiles & Industries and JK Cement.

Courtesy: PTI